top of page

How to Work From Home


I don't know about you, but as I watch the news and stay home to practice shelter-in-place and social distancing, I'm feeling like we are all trapped in an alternate universe or stuck in a bad Black Mirror episode.


As we are navigating these weird times more and more of us are working from home. I've also noticed that working from home can be difficult and distracting for a lot of people especially if they're not used to it. Since I've WFH on and off for 5 years, I thought I'd chime in with my tips and tricks that help me have a productive and successful work day. Of course, there are times I get tempted to be on social media rather than finishing my task at hand, but I am able most of the time to stay focused when I follow my own guidelines.


When I first started to WFH 5 years ago I was laaaaazzzzyyyy. I would roll out of bed at the last minute before I had to hop on a phone call and practically stay in my PJs all day. I mean, I didn't really interact face-to-face with anyone during the day so why should I have to get in real clothes? However, after a few weeks of following into this lackadaisical pattern, I started to feel depressed and was less productive in my work. I would watch Netflix instead of completing my to-do list. But when I finally put some rules for my WFH self in place, I created an environment that makes working remotely super productive.


GET READY


Make Your Bed

Seems like a small task, but I promise adding that little bit of responsibility and normalcy to your day will go a long way.


Get Out of Your PJs

There's a reason why you wear different types of clothes for different times of the day. Get dressed like you normally would for work, (well at least out of sweats and PJs). Put on some jeans, a shirt, etc. Getting into "real clothes" will make it feel like a regular day and won't tempt you to succumb to the laziness that your PJs will make you feel.


Start Your Day With a Habit

Prepare your mind for the day with a habit that you start each day with. Drink coffee, eat a full balanced breakfast, read the news, etc. I start each morning before jumping into work with reading from my devotional book, a chapter in the Bible, and praying while eating my breakfast. A morning ritual will help your day feel more structured.


CREATE THE FOCUSED ATMOSPHERE


Your Desk

Dedicating a space for you to work at will help your mind understand 'this place is for work' and will create that sacred space. When I first started WFH, I worked at my kitchen table. I tried to stay away from working on the couch so I wouldn't be tempted to turn on the TV or to get in a cozy state of mind. But then once I moved into a tiny apartment that had no space for a table, I was forced to work while sitting on the couch, so then made it a rule that I couldn't watch TV during the day. Now, our new house has a dedicated office room, which is helpful, although I find myself working at the kitchen table more often because I enjoy the natural light that comes in from the kitchen windows. If you can, find a separate place in your home that will only be a space for work. So, when you're at that space- you know it's time to get to business!


Find Your Sound

Figure out if you work better in silence or with music playing. If in silence, it's best to find a space that is isolated from the others in your house or if possible, has a door to mute external sounds. Maybe you work better when music is playing. Find a playlist that will be your dedicated work playlist. I highly recommend using the playlist ONLY when you're working. So when you hear it, your mind will be conditioned to know it needs to focus. Some suggestions of Spotify playlists I use to focus are below.



Light a Candle

Other things I've used to help me to create an atmosphere is lighting a particular candle. Once it's lit and I get that glow from it along with the smell, and again, my mind is conditioned to know it's work time.


Limit Social Media Apps

Unless your job depends on you interacting on social media, add some restrictions on your screen time. I know that with the iPhone you can literally put screen time limits on. No excuse to tempt yourself during the workday with looking at how everyone else is faring at home or which latest celeb is going live on Instagram.



Explain Expectations

This is THE MOST IMPORTANT item if you are sharing your WFH space with someone else... share your expectations. Let them know how you work best and be considerate of how they work best. For instance my husband just left the office door open while he's on a (loud) conference call so I will be shutting that door in a minute... Ask your WFH buddy how they like to work- do they like to play music? Do they need silence? Are they okay with interruptions? Can they work with the TV on in the background? Etc. And make sure to explain how you are able to stay focused and what could potentially be a distraction for you. Sharing these and finding ways to be considerate of one another will help incite a seamless WFH environment.


Take Breaks

Use your phone or Alexa to set alarms for timed breaks. It is completely healthy (and highly encouraged) to take a break once in a while. Once your alarm goes off, step away from your dedicated work space and get a snack, get some more coffee, call a friend, skim social media, get some fresh air, or exercise. Also, set a time limit for how long your break will be: 5,10, 30 minutes,1 hour? I usually take 1 hour break for lunch and ask Alexa to set a timer. Once she goes off, I get right back into my work.


I hope these tips and tricks help you become successful in your work day while we all isolate ourselves inside our homes! If you have any other tips that help you stay focused during the day, comment them below! Stay safe kids and hope to see you in the outside world soon.



 


0 comments
bottom of page