top of page

Can You Really Be Friends With Someone Who Has Different Political Beliefs Than You?


I once had a boss who told me that he had to rethink his friendship with a long-time friend after hearing who he had voted for. I laughed. He was dead serious.


America is gearing up for another election and unless you've been living under a rock, it's all that anything can talk about nowadays: SNL sketches, TV shows, News, friends conversations-- and it's not a true family holiday gathering until Uncle Bob ruffles some feathers by bringing up the latest news on the impeachment trials.


Politics is one of the taboo subjects they say to not discuss to have a "pleasant" relationship or conversation, sure... but what about even having friendships, romantic relationships, or family relationships with those that disagree with you politically? I think these relationships are important and do not have to be discontinued just because you have different beliefs.


If you know me and my husband well, you'll know that we are COMPLETE opposites when it comes to politics. It's a sore subject in our household and often I have to say, "let's talk about something else," when I feel a heated debate coming on. When it comes to voting, we often crack ourselves up knowing we probably just canceled out each other's vote. One time after voting, I took a selfie with my "I voted" sticker and posted it online with the caption: "Pretty sure my husband and I canceled out each other's vote, but #ivoted!" and was taken aback when received a comment from a follower that said "divorce him". The comment screamed: if you are different, you don't belong together. But should the way we vote or don't vote define our relationship?


Recently, Matt and I have made friends who do not have the same political beliefs as me. When we're all together, I am the odd man out. However, it doesn't taint our friendship. It doesn't mean we can't have fun together or learn from one another or enjoy each other's company. It actually feels refreshing to be able to talk about what I believe in safe company, for when I do discuss my beliefs, they don't judge me for it and vice versa.


Isn't it possible to have friendships and relationships that look and believe differently than you yourself? Isn't that how one grows and how we learn from one another? Should we allow political beliefs to create divisions within friendships and families? Should we really just stick to our 'own kind'? Is that what healthy friendships and relationships look like?


I know that I love my husband and he loves me no matter what side of the political scale we are on and I know my friendships don't need to be defined by who they voted for and why.


It may be controversial, but maybe healthy friendships and relationships can transcend political beliefs and possibly can help in creating a positive future.


So, can you really be friends with someone who has different political beliefs than you?

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page