top of page

Indie Pop Artist Spotlight: Sydney Lau - New Music Reviews

Most of how I find out about the artists I review are through word of mouth - in a way… because of this day and age of technology, it’s actually through Instagram Stories. That’s how I first heard about the artist for this week and once I heard her debut single that came out a few months ago, I was hooked. Her pop sound is absolutely hauntingly beautiful.

Since I’ve already reviewed this indie artist once before, and fell in love with her 2nd release, I felt compelled to learn more about her as an artist. So, this week’s new music review is coming at you in the form of an interview.



Lau’s new single has so many different elements that on paper look like there might be too much going on, but she kills it. Lau is an artist through and through, she’s smart and thorough with her songwriting and it’s simply mind-blowing. Operatic background vocals, a super vibey bass, strong moments of acapella, and soft piano bring about a cinematic, psychedelic track that will be stuck in your head all day long.

In this interview Lau tells us how she got into music, the story behind the song, and the detailed and extremely intentional way in which she composed the song.

First off, let’s get to know you. how did you get into music?

I’ve been singing and playing piano ever since I can remember. I grew up singing in church with my mom and my sister, and my love for it only grew stronger as I got older. I decided to study music in college, which really solidified me wanting to pursue music as a career.

Did you always know you wanted to be an artist?

Not always. My first interest in writing came from composing instrumental music. My dream job for a long time was to become a film score composer (which is still something I would love to pursue one day). I began writing songs as more of a hobby on the side…just for fun. The more I did it, however, the more I found it to be a safe place for me to vent my feelings. Eventually I decided to start sharing these songs with the world and people seem to really respond to the stories I’m telling.



Who are some of your favorite Nashville artists?

Lennon Stella, Charli Adams, Hayley Williams, R.LUM.R

Your previous single “He Doesn’t Know” was about how you longed to be with an ex while you were dating another guy, but ended up marrying the guy you were singing about. It seems that this one is about someone who is doing you wrong and you tell them ‘that’s it’, that you can’t take anymore... but then you see them and you forget your hurt feelings and fall in love all over again. An unhealthy relationship perhaps? Or am I completely off base? Can you give us the backstory to “My Love You Were”?

You pretty much hit the nail on the head! This song reflects an internal battle with myself during an on and off relationship that I had with a guy who I felt had abandoned me. I wanted so badly to be fed up with him, but the truth was, I would drop everything in a second to be with him. I couldn’t ever get enough of him, and I think he knew it.

The production on the song is completely mesmerizing. Walk us through this song’s songwriting process. Did you come up with concept or beat first?

When creating this song, I really wanted to capture the “on and off” nature of the relationship by using a combination of slow/sad moments and bright/happy moments. For example, the line, “Cover my whole body with love, it’ll never be enough,” is paired with a soft piano playing a minor chord. I really wanted this line to hurt as much as the relationship did. After this, the chorus opens up with, “My love you were all I wanted, my love you were all I need.” I wanted this part to feel happier because even though we had our rough moments, he really was all I wanted. So, I brought in a fun beat with lots of vocal layers and a fun, high, operatic vocal line. This song was just as fun to produce as it was to write.

Song credits?

Written by: Sydney Lau

Produced by: Sydney Lau, Ryan Lau, Danny Lopez

Mixed by: Matt Huber

Mastered by: Sam Moses

Album Art: Sydney Lau

Is there more music to come soon?

Absolutely! More to come very soon.

Make sure to check out Sydney on Instagram to stay up to date as she releases new tracks.



To listen to this songs and all the songs I review on Spotify click here.

0 comments
bottom of page